h1

You ask the questions

June 30, 2008

So the blogs been a little slower than usual, which is poor show, but that’s mainly because Casper and I have been busy follow up voyage activities.

One of these activities, revolves around BBC Question Time – the Thursday night BBC political panel debate on current affairs where it’s the public’s turn to ask the questions.  For only the second time ever, members of the public have been invited to sit on the panel.  I’ve been lucky to be shortlisted to the last ten to appear on the programme and fingers crossed I get the opportunity.  But I can only do so with your support!  So I encourage you all to take a peak at the website and watch the videos that all the candidates have made.  I would of course love it if you were able to back me by leaving your opinion comment on the web.  I think it is excellent that such a popular political programme is encouraging youth engagement, as an important contribution to participatory democracy.  Something I feel we lack too often.

Here’s my video for your own viewing:

I’d like to highlight that although I highlight that I am in the Arctic, I talk about climate change as an EXAMPLE of one of the most important issues of today that we should be discussing.  I am aware that this programme is about current affairs and I look forward to discussing issues such as Zimbabwe, education and what ever pops up that week!

To leave a comment and watch the other candidates’ videos, please go to http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/programmes/question_time/schools_question_time/7460834.stm

Leave a comment